How can I delete / cancel my PrivateTunnel account?

While we are sorry to see you go, we understand that you may have reasons to discontinue your relationship with us.

If you would like to cancel your subscription, please go to https://www.privatetunnel.com/ click Login and enter your Private Tunnel login credentials.  Then go to the Subscription page - at the bottom of the next page is a link labeled Cancel Subscription, click this and follow the steps on the screen.

Important: You must follow this cancellation procedure for us to process your cancellation request. Cancellation requests made by email message or by phone cannot be guaranteed. Private Tunnel will not be responsible for any missed cancellation timeframes if you failed to cancel using this procedure. If you are having trouble with canceling your subscription using this method, please contact us at support@privatetunnel.com and one of our agents will be more than happy to assist. Please include a copy of your payment receipt so we can properly locate your records.

If you would like to close your account entirely, you may do so in the Settings page inside your web portal account if you do not currently have an active subscription on the account. If a subscription is currently active (or waiting to be canceled), you will not be able to close your account until either the subscription has lapsed or you contact us to immediately cancel your subscription for you. Depending on the subscription status, you may have to forfeit your current credits in order for you to cancel your subscription with immediate effect. Once an account has been closed, it cannot be recovered or reopened. Any credits or subscription packs remaining on the account will be irrevocably forfeited. If you believe you are entitled to a refund per the policy below, please contact us before initiating an account closure/deletion.

In some cases, you may be entitled to a refund, based on the following criteria: 

Monthly Subscriptions:

No refunds after the initial 7-day trial period and the subscription is charged. Cancellations must be made before the 7-day trial period for the payment method on-file not to be charged (do note that our system does place a temporary authorization on the credit card when you first subscribe to the service - this is not a charge and should drop off from your statement within 2-3 working days.) To stop future recurring payments after the initial 7-day trial period, use the steps above to cancel your subscription. No refunds will be due for the current billing month, but your subscription will be canceled at the next billing date in which you will no longer be billed.

Note: No trial period is available if you have previously activated one on your account. You will be immediately billed in this case, and no refunds will be applicable under these conditions.

Yearly Subscriptions:

Refunds are available for up to sixty (60) days after the initial purchase. For each calendar month (or a portion thereof), the refund will be reduced by $6.00 USD (the equivalent of a monthly subscription for the month). After the initial calendar month, the refund will be reduced by $12.00 USD. To prevent this charge, you must request any cancellations prior to your trial end date (7 days from the initial subscription). If your account is no longer eligible for a trial, a minimum $6.00 processing charge will apply to your refund. Refunds will not be given after the 60-day period.

iOS Subscriptions: 

Subscriptions paid for by the iOS platform are final once the payment is processed. No refunds can be given for these purchases for any reason. If you are looking to test the Private Tunnel service for your needs or you are unsure whether a particular service will work under our VPN service, you are encouraged to use our other payment methods for your subscription.

Legacy Data Accounts:

Legacy data packs cannot be refunded and no prorated refunds will be provided for any remaining balances. If you have a legacy data account, we strongly encourage that you deplete your current balances fully before converting your account into a subscription account. Conversion of the account prior to the depletion of your legacy balance will lead to the forfeiture of the remaining balance. Canceling your subscription account will not recover any lost legacy balances and you will not be able to connect unless an active subscription is maintained on the account.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at support@privatetunnel.com.

  • 34
  • 10-Oct-2019
  • 16888 Views